HOME BOOKS BLOG BIONEWS CONTACT
Broken by Travis Thrasher

Broken

Laila had it all--love, family, wealth, and faith. But when her faith crumbles, her world falls apart and Laila finds herself living an empty, dangerous life as a call girl in Chicago.

When she is threatened, Laila shoots and kills a client in self-defense, sending herself into a spiral of guilt and emptiness. Six months later, she is trying to move on, but she's haunted by the past. She hasn't told anyone about the man she killed, and she's still estranged from her family.

When she is approached by a stranger who says he knows what she did, Laila has no choice but to run. But the stranger stays close behind, and Laila begins having visions of the man she killed. Little does she know she's being hounded by something not of this world, something that knows her deepest, darkest secret.

Scared and wandering, will Laila regain her trust in God to protect her from these demons? Or will her plea for salvation come too late?

"Each time I read a novel by Travis Thrasher, I close the cover and tell myself that was his best. But I find it hard to imagine that Thrasher is going to be able to surpass Broken easily....the story literally drove me to tears...The action is intense, the pace breakneck, the aura of mystery palpable, the sense of the supernatural mysterious...In the vein of Isolation and Ghostwriter, Thrasher gives us Broken, one of his best stories to date."--Josh Olds, The Christian Critic

"Thrasher spins this dark tale using the present tense. This unusual, and difficult, technique was a smart move—the pace quickens, the action intensifies, the emotions are immediate. Everything happens now. The suspense grows, indeed it starts to reverberate, as the reader moves through the short chapters. It is difficult not to turn the next page. With each supernatural vision mixed with real-life horror, the author ratchets up the tension."--CCM Magazine